Box Selective Sync

Dropbox

NOTE Available only in v8.x. Not sure which version you have?If the Workplace app icon in your task/menu bar is a little cloud, you have v10. If it's a little folder, you're using v8.0.

  1. Obtaining Box Sync Login to your Box @ Penn State account Click on your avatar in the upper-right corner of any page in your Box account Click “Apps” on the drop-down menu which will take you to the page listing all Box apps Type “Box Sync” in the search field Select the appropriate version (Windows.
  2. Box Sync is a hub-and-spoke model. It is centrally controlled. When 'mark for offline' is added to to Box Drive in a few months, it will be endpoint driven and you will be able to sync different files to different devices.
Security and navigation

To use selective sync, you’ll need to turn on the feature from the Dropbox app on your Windows or Mac computer. Once selective sync is enabled, you can choose which folders to keep off your computer; those same folders will stay in your dropbox.com account. The ability to selectively sync folders to show like in Box Sync is currently not a feature available in Box Drive. There is an existing feature request submitted for this via Box Pulse that is currently 'Under consideration', you can find the post on this page: https://pulse.box.com/forums/909778-help-shape-the-future-of-box/suggestions/36932773-select-folders-to-sync. Box Sync and Box Drive are two separate desktop applications that give you the ability to access Box content from your desktop environment. However, there are known issues with having both Box Sync and Box Drive installed on a single machine. And since Box Drive 2.4 has nearly all of Sync’s capabilities - including the ability to work offline - and since it includes an automated Sync Uninstaller, it’s worthwhile, simple, and fast to transition fully to Box Drive.

SECURITY All Workplace Desktop users

SECURITY Folder sync is available to all users, but non-Administrator users are restricted to folder sync locations in their own user folder.

NAVIGATION Windows taskbar > Preferences...> Preferences button > Workplace Sync... or Folder Sync.

NAVIGATION Mac menu bar > > Preferences... > Workplace Sync tab or Folder Sync tab

Selective Sync allows you to specify which folders within a project are synced to your Mac or PC. This is especially useful when you only want sub-sections of large projects to be synced to your local machine.

Selective Sync can be performed on existing projects or when syncing a project for the first time.

For administrators, Selective Sync can also be used on projects stored in alternative locations (folders other than the Workplace folder) via the Workplace Desktop Folder Sync.

NOTE Users on unlimited plans may sync to internal drives only

Box selective sync

How to...

Access Selective Sync

Windows:
> Preferences... > Preferences button >Workplace Sync tab or Folder Sync tab.
Mac:
> Preferences... > Workplace Sync tab or Folder Sync tab.

Use Selective Sync for a new project

Follow these steps to selectively sync folders within a project that is not currently synced to your device:

  1. Select the Workplace Sync tab.
  2. Click Sync ProjectA project is a top-level folder within Workplace. A project is the primary container for all the folders and files that are synchronized by the Workplace service. Projects create the basic organizational structure to store data and control user access..
  3. Select the project to sync and then click Selective Sync.
  4. Expand and collapse the folder structure. Select the folders to be synced and clear the folders not to be synced:

Box Selective Sync

NOTE Hold down the CTRL key and click the check boxes to select/clear a box without automatically selecting/deselecting the sub-folders within that folder.

Box sync selective sync

NOTE This will result in the parent folder being synced. Files within that folder, as well as any newly-created files or folders will be automatically synced as well.

  1. Click OK. The selected folder will begin to sync in the background.

  2. Close the Project Selection window or repeat steps 2 - 5 to sync another project.

  3. Click OK (only necessary in Windows).
Use Selective Sync for a currently synced project

Follow these steps to selectively sync folders within a Project that is currently syncing to the machine:

  1. Select the Workplace Sync tab.
  2. Select the project from the Synced Projects list.
  3. Click Edit Selective Sync.
  1. Expand and collapse the folder structure. Select the folders to be synced and clear the folders not to be synced:

NOTE Hold the CTRL key and click the check boxes to select/clear a box without automatically selecting/deselecting the sub-folders within that folder.

  1. Click OK. The selected folder will begin (un)syncing in the background so that the contents of the project match your selection.
  2. Click OK (only necessary in Windows).
Use Selective Sync for new projects via the Folder Sync tab

Follow these steps to selectively sync folders within a Project that is not currently syncing to the machine:

Box

SECURITY Folder sync is available to all users, but non-Administrator users are restricted to folder sync locations in their own user folder.

  1. Select the Folder Sync tab.
  2. Click Sync Project.
  3. Select Sync Project to local folder. Note that this option is only available for the Sync Project to local folder option.

NOTE You can only selectively sync down from the cloud. You cannot selectively sync up to the cloud.

  1. Click Select Project.
  2. Select the project to sync and then click Selective Sync.
  1. Expand and collapse the folder structure. Select the folders to be synced and clear the folders not to be synced:

Box Selective Sync Different Computers

NOTE Hold the CTRL key and click the check boxes to select/clear a box without automatically selecting/deselecting the sub-folders within that folder.

  1. Click OK.
  2. Click Browse and select the location for the project to be stored locally.
  3. Click Sync Project to Local Folder. The selected folder will begin to sync in the background.
  4. Close the Project Selection window or repeat steps 2 - 9 to sync another project.
  5. Click OK (only necessary in Windows).
Selective Sync of projects already synced via the Folder Sync tab

SECURITY Folder sync is available to all users, but non-Administrator users are restricted to folder sync locations in their own user folder.

Follow these steps to selectively sync only certain folders within a project that is not currently syncing to the machine:

Box Sync Selective Sync

  1. Select the Folder Sync tab.
  1. Select the project from the Synced Projects list.
  2. Click Edit Selective Sync.
  1. Expand and collapse the folder structure. Select the folders to be synced and clear the folders not to be synced:

NOTE Hold the CTRL key and click the check boxes to select/clear a box without automatically selecting/deselecting the sub-folders within that folder.

Dropbox Selective Sync

  1. Click OK. The selected folder will begin (un)syncing in the background so that the contents of the project match your selection.
  2. Click OK (only necessary in Windows).

Box Drive Selective Sync

Want to talk about it? Head on over to our Community Forum!
Copy this topic's URL
Provide feedback for the Documentation team